132nd Annual Meeting Award Recipients Honored

Featured, In The News, Special Events
June 14, 2023

The Treasure Valley Family YMCA has recognized individuals for their years of volunteerism and service to the Y and the community. These awards were presented at the Y’s 132nd Annual Meeting on June 7, an event that brought people together to celebrate our local YMCA leaders who are creating positive change within their community, including the volunteers who go above and beyond.

2023 Vern Emery Award: Martha Emery

This year, the Vern Emery Award was presented to none other than Vern’s daughter, Martha Emery. Martha has served the Y loyally for decades, and just like her father, she has done so with genuine warmth, inspiring the best in those around her. Her contributions to our Y are numerous, but she is perhaps best known as a champion for the Y’s work in Youth Development, serving as a member and chair of the Child Development Branch’s advisory committee and as a member of the Association Board of Directors for nine years. Martha currently supports our Y Camp at Horsethief Reservoir as a member of its advisory committee. Her support of our Y is personal, and we are so grateful that she continues to be part of our Y family.

The Board of Directors of the Y established the Vern Emery Award in 1991 in memory and honor of former Y Executive Director Vern Emery’s long-term leadership of this community’s YMCA. It is presented annually to an outstanding volunteer leader based upon the following criteria:

  • Long-term service to the Y and the community-at-large 
  • Former Service-to-Youth Award recipient 
  • Must demonstrate the personal qualities so characteristic of Vern, including caring, compassion, strong leadership and initiative, optimism, positive attitude, sense of humor, ability to be a role model, ability to praise and build self-esteem in others, and ability to be a friend to all 

2023 Service to Youth Awards

  • Keitha Hahn
  • Max Veltman
  • Dave Self

2023 Volunteer of the Year Awards

  • Steve Cooper | Caldwell YMCA
  • John Heimer | Downtown Boise YMCA
  • Lauren French, Rachel Joern, Jensen Haigh | Tomlinson South Meridian YMCA
  • Mick Hedberg | West Boise YMCA & Boise City Aquatics Center
  • Little Luke’s Parent Advisory Committee | Child Development
  • Janice Moorefield | Y Camp at Horsethief Reservoir 

132nd Annual Meeting Photos